Thursday, March 2, 2017

Ernest Bloch - Sacred Service (Geoffrey Simon)


Composer: Ernest Bloch
  1. Avodath Hakodesh (Sacred Service): Part I - Meditation (Prelude)
  2. Avodath Hakodesh (Sacred Service): Part II - Kedusha (Sanctification)
  3. Avodath Hakodesh (Sacred Service): Part III - Silent Devotion (Prelude) and Response - Taking the Scroll from the Ark (Interlude)
  4. Avodath Hakodesh (Sacred Service): Part IV - Returning the Scroll to the Ark - Eitz chayim (Peace Song)
  5. Avodath Hakodesh (Sacred Service): Part Va - Va'anachnu (Adoration) - Kaddish (Memorial Service)
  6. Avodath Hakodesh (Sacred Service): Part Vb - Yevorechechoh Adoshem (Benediction)

Louis Berkman, baritone
The Zemel Choir
London Symphony Orchestra
Geoffrey Simon, conductor

Date: 1978
Label: Chandos



Don’t expect passionate, rhapsodic outpourings along the lines of Schelomo. Majoring on austerity and restraint, Bloch’s Sacred Service (Avodath Hakodesh) post-dates his discovery of a bracing neo-classicism, best exemplified by the Concerto grosso No 1 and Piano Quintet No 1, minor masterpieces we ought to hear more often. Apart from the language of its ritual, the Sacred Service often sounds like Vaughan Williams. The music is four-square and at times obsessively contrapuntal, yet the scoring has a deftness and luminosity that may come as a surprise.

Once touted as the Hebrew Messiah – aficionados will note that Bloch’s own LPO version has resurfaced on the Pearl label – it is much less familiar today and tends to be the preserve of specialist outfits like the Zemel Choir. This accomplished group, celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, has a pleasantly earthy sonority, with reedy sopranos and robust-sounding tenors. The downside is that Orthodox sensitivities have prompted some tinkering with the (Reform Jewish) text. Although the prohibition on pronouncing the name of the Lord originally applied only to the four-letter form of address Christians know as Jehovah, the practice here extends to substituting ‘Adoshem’ for ‘Adonai’. Anyone who grew up with Bernstein’s 1960 recording (Sony, 11/92 – nla) will find this a little odd. On the other hand, while Bernstein’s dramatic intensity and detailed nuancing are scarcely outshone, the piece does benefit from the superior production values enjoyed by Geoffrey Simon in 1978.

This is an early example of the Chandos wide-screen effect, the venue being All Saints Church in Tooting. The soloist, no secular operatic star but a genuine, baritonal cantor, is both eloquent and realistically balanced within the ensemble. The results should prove easy to live with.

-- David Gutman, Gramophone


Ernest Bloch (July 24, 1880 – July 15, 1959) was a Swiss-born American composer.  Bloch's musical style does not fit easily into any of the usual categories; he studied variously with Jaques-Dalcroze, Iwan Knorr and Ludwig Thuille, as well as corresponding with Mahler and meeting Debussy. Many of his works - as can be seen from their Hebrew-inspired titles - also draw heavily on his Jewish heritage. He held several teaching appointments in the U.S., with George Antheil, Frederick Jacobi, Quincy Porter, Bernard Rogers, and Roger Sessions among his pupils.


Geoffrey Simon (born 3 July 1946 in Adelaide) is an Australian conductor. He was a student of Herbert von Karajan, Rudolf Kempe, Hans Swarowsky and Igor Markevitch. His music directorships have included the Albany Symphony Orchestra (New York), the Sacramento Symphony (California) and the Orquestra Simfònica de Balears "Ciutat de Palma" (Majorca). He has made recordings for a number of labels, including his own label - Cala Records, combining familiar works with world premieres of rediscovered obscure works by Tchaikovsky, Respighi, Borodin, Mussorgsky, Smetana, Grainger, Debussy, Ravel, Saint-Saëns and Les Six.


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. Copy Adfly (, ( or LinkShrink ( to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly, or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.