Friday, March 10, 2017

Eugène Ysaÿe - Sonatas for Solo Violin (Alina Ibragimova)


Composer: Eugène Ysaÿe
  • (01-04) Sonata No. 1 in G minor "Joseph Szigeti", Op. 27 No. 1
  • (05-08) Sonata No. 2 in A minor "Jacques Thibaud", Op. 27 No. 2
  • (09) Sonata No. 3 in D minor "Georges Enescu", Op. 27 No. 3 "Ballade"
  • (10-12) Sonata No. 4 in E minor "Fritz Kreisler", Op. 27 No. 4
  • (13-14) Sonata No. 5 in G major "Mathieu Crickboom", Op. 27 No. 5
  • (15) Sonata No. 6 in E major "Manuel Quiroga", Op. 27 No. 6

Alina Ibragimova, violin
Date: 2015
Label: Hyperion




Alina Ibragimova is one of today’s most unassuming virtuoso violinists, her approach to Ysaÿe’s sonatas offering a perfect foil to those performances seeking to thrill with a show of outgoing brilliance. That point is made abundantly clear in the introspection she brings to passages in the opening movement of the First Sonata, where the music at times becomes almost inaudible. Even later in the sonata, when the left hand is required to fly around the fingerboard, she is intent on creating passages of gorgeous filigree, and the chords in the final movement are solid rather than hacked out of the instrument as we normally hear.

Her bowing dexterity never points to the fact that passages of the Second Sonata require the frequent crossing of strings at speed, that requirement lost in her creation of lyric elegance. This world of beauty equally extends to the pizzicatos in the third movement, which are caressed rather than plucked.

When the mood of the music so requires she is never lacking in drama, and her breathless finale sections of the Third and Fourth sonatas are electrifying in their flawless articulation, while intonation throughout the disc is impeccable. It is a personal view of the work, but one I have greatly enjoyed, and the recorded sound is very forward and vivid.

-- David DentonThe Strad

More reviews:


Eugène Ysaÿe (16 July 1858 – 12 May 1931) was a Belgian violinist, composer and conductor. He was regarded as "The King of the Violin", or, as Nathan Milstein put it, the "tsar". As a violinist, Ysaÿe was a great interpreter of late Romantic and early modern composers and also was admired for his Bach and Beethoven interpretations. His technique was brilliant and finely honed, and in this respect he is the first modern violinist, whose technique was without the shortcomings of some earlier artists. As a composer, his most famous work is the six Sonatas for Solo Violin Op. 27.


Alina Ibragimova (born 28 September 1985 in Polevskoy, Russian SSR) is a Russian-British violinist. In 1997, Ibragimova began her studies at the Yehudi Menuhin School under Natasha Boyarskaya. Ibragimova was a member of the BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artists scheme 2005-7. She has been the recipient of a number of awards including the Royal Philharmonic Society Young Artist Award 2010. She performs on a c.1775 Anselmo Bellosio provided by Georg von Opel, and records for Hyperion label.


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. Amazing share! Thank you very much!

    I've just discovered your blog and I love it! I especially appreciate the presentation style, and especially the inclusion of the recording date.

  3. Brilliant - thank you.

  4. MUCHAS GRACIAS !!! … Merci! Thank you! Obrigado! Спасибо! !ありがう! Arigato! Danke! Dziękuję! Dank je u! Mulţumesc! Teşekkür ederim! Tack! Tack så mycket! Grazie! Kiitos! תודה לך! Takk! Dakujem,ďakujem vám! Hvala! شكراً!shokran! Ευχαριστώ! 감사합니다! Děkuji! Tak skal du have! Dankon! Hvala! Najlepša hvala! Gràcies! Faleminderit! Ačiū! De’koju! Labai ačiū! ขอบคุณ! Shukrīya! بہت) شكريه (bahut)! Cảm ơn cô! Cảm ơn cô nhiều! Благодаря! Þakka þér! Baie dankie! Takk fyri! Sipas dekem! متشکرم! Благодарам! Təşəkkür! Paldies! Pateicos! Tencinu! Terima kasih! Дуже дякую! Спасибі! Баярлалаа! Гялайлаа! Танд их баярлалаа! Terima kasih! ধন্যবাদ (dhonyobād)! Salamat! Trugarez!

  5. Hello Kind Sir,

    It seems that this recording is not downloading from Mega or Embedded links.

    Can I please ask you to reupload?

    Thank you very much!


    1. Please follow the intructions ('How to Download', red text on the right column of this blog). I copy them here for you:

      Copy Adfly ( or Shortest link ( or to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (yellow button, top right).
      If Adfly or Shortest ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (
      If MEGA says 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded', try to create a free account.

    2. I tried to download from MEGA myself. It seems that MEGA is having issue with their link. Perhaps you can try again later?

    3. Of course, I'll try tomorrow. I'll let you know.

      Thank you very much.


  6. Still seems not to be working on Mega or any other of the Embedupload links. If you could reupload, it would be most appreciated! :-).


  7. This comment has been removed by the author.

  8. Thank you, as always. I've never heard these sonatas before.



  9. Copy Adfly (, ( or LinkShrink ( to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly, or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.


  10. Helo Ronald Do.
    I love these Sonatas. Could it be possible to gave me another link for downloading?
    Thanks a lot for this wonderful music.

    1. Can you tell me what kind of problems have you find with above link?

  11. Helo. Thanks for your kind answer. I can't open it for downloading. Thanks a lot for any help that you may give me.

  12. Helo again Ronald Do. Now I have reached the Mega link OK. Thanks a lot for your concern.
    Kindest Regards from Argentina