Friday, March 10, 2017

Eugène Ysaÿe - Works for Violin & Orchestra (Albrecht Breuninger)


Composer: Eugène Ysaÿe
  1. Poème élégiaque in D minor, Op. 12
  2. Chant d'hiver in B minor, Op. 15
  3. Berceuse in F minor, Op. 20
  4. Les neiges d'Antan, Op. 23
  5. Violin Concerto No. 8: I. Grave e lento poco maesto
  6. Violin Concerto No. 8: II. Andante non troppo
  7. Violin Concerto No. 8: III. (no tempo indication)
  8. Divertimento, Op. 24: 1. Molto moderato
  9. Divertimento, Op. 24: 2. Allegro non troppo, vivo

Albrecht Breuninger, violin
Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie
Welisar Gentscheff, conductor

Date: 2006
Label: CPO



Ysaÿe’s works for violin and orchestra are far less frequently encountered than his solo sonatas. There was always something of a vogue in Russia for some of the bigger works. Oistrakh was a proponent of the Poème élégiaque, recording it. More recently Raskin has committed a couple to disc. But in the main these are under-recorded works of lush, Chausson-esque evocation.

One can see what Oistrakh saw in the Poème élégiaque. Along with its hothouse Franckian inheritance there’s Chausson’s stamp but also a Tchaikovskian shape to the solo line that reminds one of the Russian’s own Violin Concerto. The languorous heat haze that sometimes falls over the music is almost tropical - the rich orchestration is by Jacques Ysaÿe. Chant d’hiver offers another cushioned ride, though one obviously less verdant. Good player though he is – lower string work really speaks - Albrecht Laurent Breuninger takes a decidedly more leisurely approach than Aaron Rosand did in his traversal with the Luxembourg Radio Orchestra and Louis de Froment in their Vox Box. Rosand deploys timbral variety and a bewitching colouration to make this piece really live and at a considerably faster tempo. The newcomer’s more leisurely charms aren’t obliterated but are very different.

The Berceuse is a more concise and delightfully lyrical morceau but of a bigger stamp is Les neiges d’antan. This has its whimsical side, attractively brought out here, and certainly not over-done. Breuninger dares a sleek period portamento or two and he proves deft in his harmonics, even the cruelly stratospheric ones with which the piece ends.

The Violin Concerto might raise hopes as to an undiscovered masterpiece but it’s actually a surviving work – among many concertos – from his relative youth and boyhood. It’s couched in concerto grosso form, in three movements, and is for strings alone. The recording team has calculated this rather well with the solo violin well integrated into the body of strings without losing its relative prominence in the fabric. The ethos here is backward-looking but enjoyable because there are those typically languorous moments that mark out his orchestral writing. The fugato sounds rather academic but the slow movement is intense if short. The finale has its vaporous moments but also some Chausson inspirations as well.

The Op.24 Divertimento is aptly described in the notes as an example of Art Nouveau in music. Well, Brussels is famous for its Art Nouveau, and Ysaÿe was a Belgian, so ... well let’s not follow it too far as Liège was his stomping ground. There are some insider’s bowing demands here and some terrific colouristic opportunities. It’s an unusual work, quite intense, with a lot of decorative embellishment of the theme.

This disc has the field largely to itself at the moment. Performances are warm and lyric, though occasionally rather laid-back. With very decent notes and a suitably enveloping acoustic this is a intriguing sidelight on Ysaÿe’s more prominent and bracingly up-to-date solo sonatas.

-- Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

More reviews:


Eugène Ysaÿe (16 July 1858 – 12 May 1931) was a Belgian violinist, composer and conductor. He was regarded as "The King of the Violin", or, as Nathan Milstein put it, the "tsar". As a violinist, Ysaÿe was a great interpreter of late Romantic and early modern composers and also was admired for his Bach and Beethoven interpretations. His technique was brilliant and finely honed, and in this respect he is the first modern violinist, whose technique was without the shortcomings of some earlier artists. As a composer, his most famous work is the six Sonatas for Solo Violin Op. 27.


Winning the second prize in June 1997, Laurent Albrecht Breuninger was the first German violinist ever to be placed in the first three in the history of the Queen Elisabeth Competition since it was founded in 1951. He studied with Thomas Füri in Winterthur and Zürich, and with Josef Rissin in Karlsruhe. Breuninger has recorded renowned label CPO. Additionally Breuninger is active as a composer and often performs his own compositions in his recitals. He also cultivates a close bond with various contemporary composers both as a performer and composer.


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. Another great upload. Thank you!

  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

    1. Do you have any trouble with MEGA link?

  4. Copy Adfly (, ( or LinkShrink ( to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly, or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.