Saturday, March 11, 2017

Fanny Mendelssohn - Piano Works (Béatrice Rauchs)


Composer: Fanny Mendelssohn
  • (01-04) Piano Sonata in G minor
  • (05) Prelude in E minor
  • (06-11) Character Pieces, MA Ms. 44
  • (12-14) 3 mélodies, Op. 4
  • (15-17) 3 mélodies, Op. 5

Béatrice Rauchs, piano
Date: 1997
Label: BIS



PERFORMANCE: ***** / SOUND: *****

I’ll stick my neck out straightaway and say that, on the whole, I prefer Fanny’s piano music to her more famous brother’s. The Mélodies have much the same place in her output that the Songs without Words have in Felix’s, but they have greater depth and the accompaniments are a more important part of the texture. The Sonata is a particularly fine work, its opening Allegro intense and passionate with agitated rhythms projected over driving left-hand accompaniments, its scherzo light and airy. The Prelude in E minor reflects Fanny’s lifelong study of the music of JS Bach. Béatrice Rauchs is ideal in this repertoire and produces a disc which no genuine lover of Romantic piano music should be without.

-- Wadham Sutton, BBC Music Magazine


Fanny Mendelssohn [Hensel] (14 November 1805 – 14 May 1847) was a German pianist and composer, the sister of composer Felix Mendelssohn. She composed over 460 pieces of music, include a piano trio and several books of solo piano pieces and songs. A number of her songs were originally published under Felix's name in his opus 8 and 9 collections. In recent years, her music has become better known thanks to concert performances and a number of CDs being released on labels such as Hyperion and CPO.


Béatrice Rauchs (born July 27, 1962 in Luxembourg) is a Luxembourgian pianist. Rauchs studied music at the Conservatories in Luxembourg and Metz, the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Paris, and the Academy of Music in Basel. She studied with teachers such as Aldo Ciccolini, Rudolf Buchbinder and also attended master-classes with Tatiana Nikolayeva. Rauchs has given concerts in most European countries, performed as a soloist as well as making recordings for France Musique, Swedish Television, Radio Saarbrücken, RAI and BIS record. Since 1987 Béatrice Rauchs has been a piano teacher at the Conservatory of Luxembourg City.


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. MUCHAS GRACIAS !!! … Merci! Thank you! Obrigado! Спасибо! !ありがう! Arigato! Danke! Dziękuję! Dank je u! Mulţumesc! Teşekkür ederim! Tack! Tack så mycket! Grazie! Kiitos! תודה לך! Takk! Dakujem,ďakujem vám! Hvala! شكراً!shokran! Ευχαριστώ! 감사합니다! Děkuji! Tak skal du have! Dankon! Hvala! Najlepša hvala! Gràcies! Faleminderit! Ačiū! De’koju! Labai ačiū! ขอบคุณ! Shukrīya! بہت) شكريه (bahut)! Cảm ơn cô! Cảm ơn cô nhiều! Благодаря! Þakka þér! Baie dankie! Takk fyri! Sipas dekem! متشکرم! Благодарам! Təşəkkür! Paldies! Pateicos! Tencinu! Terima kasih! Дуже дякую! Спасибі! Баярлалаа! Гялайлаа! Танд их баярлалаа! Terima kasih! ধন্যবাদ (dhonyobād)! Salamat! Trugarez!

  3. Copy Adfly (, ( or LinkShrink ( to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly, or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.