Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Georg Philipp Telemann - Opera Arias (Núria Rial; Julia Schröder)


Composer: Georg Philipp Telemann
  1. Komm o Schlaf, und lass mein Leid (from "Germanicus")
  2. Das Auge starrt, die Lippen beben (from "Emma und Eginhard")
  3. Erscheine bald du Irrlicht meiner Sinne (from "Emma und Eginhard")
  4. Violin Concerto in A minor (Overture to "Emma und Eginhard"): I. Allegro
  5. Violin Concerto in A minor (Overture to "Emma und Eginhard"): II. Andante
  6. Violin Concerto in A minor (Overture to "Emma und Eginhard"): III. Presto
  7. Steckt Mars den Degen ein (from "Emma und Eginhard")
  8. Mir schmeichelt die Hoffnung (from "Der geduldige Socrates")
  9. Violin Concerto in C major (Overture to "Der geduldige Socrates"): I. [ ]
  10. Violin Concerto in C major (Overture to "Der geduldige Socrates"): II. Largo
  11. Violin Concerto in C major (Overture to "Der geduldige Socrates"): III. Vivace
  12. Mich tröstet die Hoffnung (from "Der geduldige Socrates")
  13. Ach seht mich doch, geliebte Augen (from "Der neumodische Liebhaber Damon")
  14. Ach, was für Qual und Schmerz (from "Der ungluckliche Alcmeon")
  15. Meine Tränen werden Wellen (from "Der geduldige Socrates")

Núria Rial, soprano
Basel Chamber Orchestra
Julia Schröder, violin (4-6, 9-11) & conductor

Date: 2011
Label: Deutsche Harmonia Mundi



The quietly progressing Telemann renaissance means that nowadays admirers are quick to praise the finesse of his best instrumental compositions and enthuse about his clear influence on friends Handel and Bach. Meanwhile, interest in Telemann’s operas has lagged behind. There might be perfectly sensible reasons for this, such as the frequent polyglot nature of peculiar operas that contain plenty of musical attractions but lack the psychological potency of Handel, the flamboyance of Vivaldi or the imagination of Rameau. However, they deserve the thumbnail introduction provided by Nuria Rial’s delightful performances of extracts from five different operas, which range from early Leipzig works (Germanicus and Der unglückliche Alcmeon) to operas written later on for Hamburg’s important Gänsemarkt Theatre (Der geduldige Sokrates and Emma und Eginhard).

The diverse programme is selected shrewdly. ‘Komm o Schlaf’ (Germanicus), with plucked basso continuo, is a beguiling sleep aria ideal for Rial’s intimate soft singing; a pair of recorders make a tender contribution to ‘Mir schmeichelt die Hoffnung’ (Der geduldige Sokrates). Rial impresses in impassioned outbursts such as the heroine’s anguished accompanied recitative and eloquent lament ‘Erscheine bald du Irrlicht meiner Sinne’ (Emma und Eginhard), and virtuoso recorder solos make a dazzling impact in ‘Mich tröstet die Hoffnung’ (Der geduldige Sokrates). The Basle Chamber Orchestra’s director Julia Schröder demonstrates her skills as soloist in two contrasting violin concertos that each served as an opera overture, and she plays an expressive dialogue with Rial during ‘Ach was für Qual und Schmerz’ (Der unglückliche Alcmeon). My sole criticism is the substandard editing of the booklet.

-- David Vickers, Gramophone

More reviews:


Georg Philipp Telemann (14 March 1681 – 25 June 1767) was a German Baroque composer and multi-instrumentalist. Telemann was one of the most prolific composers in history (more than 3000 pieces) and was considered by his contemporaries to be one of the leading German composers of the time alongside the likes of Johann Sebastian Bach and George Frideric Handel. Telemann's music incorporates several national styles (French, Italian) and is even at times influenced by Polish popular music. He remained at the forefront of all new musical tendencies and his music is an important link between the late Baroque and early Classical styles.


Núria Rial (born 1975 in Manresa, Catalonia, Spain) is a Spanish soprano. She began her musical studies in 1995 at the Barcelona Conservatory, finishing with a diploma in both voice and piano. Rial has specialized in the music of the renaissance and baroque eras, although her repertoire also includes Mozart opera roles, as well as, German, French and Spanish art songs. In 2009, Rial won the ECHO Klassik Award for Young Female Artist of the Year, and in 2012, she won the award for the Opera Recording of the Year, arias by Georg Philipp Telemann accompanied by the Kammerorchester Basel.


Julia Schröder (born 1978 in Straubing, Lower Bavaria, Germany) is an German violinist and conductor. She studied at the Conservatoire "Gasteig" in Munich with Urs Stieler, and attended several master-classes, inter alia, with Ana Chumachenko, Melos Quartet, Lorand Fenyves, Saschko Gawrilof and Adelina Oprean. Schröder is concertmaster and director of the Kammerorchester Basel since 2004. Her CD recordings have been released by Deutsche Harmonia Mundi and Harmonia Mundi France. She has been Professor of violin at the Conservatory of Music in Freiburg since 2010.


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. MUCHAS GRACIAS !!! … Merci! Thank you! Obrigado! Спасибо! !ありがう! Arigato! Danke! Dziękuję! Dank je u! Mulţumesc! Teşekkür ederim! Tack! Tack så mycket! Grazie! Kiitos! תודה לך! Takk! Dakujem,ďakujem vám! Hvala! شكراً!shokran! Ευχαριστώ! 감사합니다! Děkuji! Tak skal du have! Dankon! Hvala! Najlepša hvala! Gràcies! Faleminderit! Ačiū! De’koju! Labai ačiū! ขอบคุณ! Shukrīya! بہت) شكريه (bahut)! Cảm ơn cô! Cảm ơn cô nhiều! Благодаря! Þakka þér! Baie dankie! Takk fyri! Sipas dekem! متشکرم! Благодарам! Təşəkkür! Paldies! Pateicos! Tencinu! Terima kasih! Дуже дякую! Спасибі! Баярлалаа! Гялайлаа! Танд их баярлалаа! Terima kasih! ধন্যবাদ (dhonyobād)! Salamat! Trugarez!

  3. Copy Adfly ( or LinkShrink ( to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.