Monday, May 15, 2017

Henryk Szeryng plays Kreisler


Composer: Fritz Kreisler; Jean-Marie Leclair; Christoph Willibald Gluck; Pietro Antonio Locatelli
  1. Kreisler - Caprice Viennois, Op. 2
  2. Kreisler - Schön Rosmarin
  3. Kreisler - Liebesleid (Love's Sorrow)
  4. Kreisler - Liebesfreud (Love's Joy)
  5. Kreisler - Recitativo and Scherzo-Caprice, Op. 6
  6. Kreisler - Tempo di Menuetto, in the style of Pugnani
  7. Kreisler - Praeludium and Allegro, in the style of Pugnani
  8. Kreisler - Chanson Louis XIII and Pavane, in the style of Couperin
  9. Kreisler - Tambourin Chinois, Op. 3
  10. Kreisler - Minuet, in the style of Nicola Porpora
  11. Kreisler - The Old Refrain (after Johann Brandl's "Du alter Stefansturm" from "Der liebe Augustin")
  12. Kreisler - Rondino, on a theme of Beethoven
  13. Kreisler - Allegretto, in the style of Boccherini
  14. Leclair - Violin Sonata in D major (arr. Fritz Kreisler), Op. 9/3: 1. Un poco andante
  15. Leclair - Violin Sonata in D major (arr. Fritz Kreisler), Op. 9/3: 2. Allegro
  16. Leclair - Violin Sonata in D major (arr. Fritz Kreisler), Op. 9/3: 3. Sarabande (Largo)
  17. Leclair - Violin Sonata in D major (arr. Fritz Kreisler), Op. 9/3: 4. Tambourin (Presto)
  18. Gluck - Mélodie (from Gluck's "Orfeo ed Euridice") (arr. Fritz Kreisler)
  19. Locatelli - 24 Caprices from "L'arte del violino", Op. 3/23 - "The Labyrinth" (arr. Ferdinand David)

Henryk Szeryng, violin
Charles Reiner, piano

Date: 1963
Label: Mercury



PERFORMANCE: ***** / SOUND: *****

Henryk Szeryng and Charles Reiner taped this recital in 1963, for the Mercury Living Presence label. Using revolutionary three-track equipment, the recording director, Wilma Cozart, and chief engineer, Robert Fine, achieved unprecedented fidelity and dynamic range, throughout a series of legendary LP issues which became bywords for excellence among a generation of hi-fi buffs. Three decades later, this outstanding CD testifies eloquently to the prodigious results obtained. One need hardly add that Henryk Szeryng’s accounts of these Kreisler bon-bons are masterly. He brings to these delectable miniatures much of the sparkle and inimitable Gemütlichkeit of the master himself. A treasure of a reissue.

-- Michael Jameson, BBC Music Magazine

More reviews:


Friedrich "Fritz" Kreisler (February 2, 1875 – January 29, 1962) was an Austrian-born violinist and composer. One of the most noted violin masters of his or any other day, and regarded as one of the greatest violin masters of all time, he was known for his sweet tone and expressive phrasing. Kreisler wrote a number of pieces for the violin, including solos for encores. He also wrote operettas, a string quartet, and cadenzas, including ones for Brahms's D major violin concerto, Paganini's D major violin concerto, and Beethoven's D major violin concerto.


Henryk Szeryng (22 September 1918 – 3 March 1988) was a Polish-Mexican violinist and composer. He studied violin with Maurice Frenkel, Carl Flesch and Jacques Thibaud, and studied composition with Nadia Boulanger. After a break in his concert career because of WWII and his move from Poland to Mexico, Szeryng begin concertizing again in 1954 as encouraged by Arthur Rubinstein. Szeryng made a number of recordings for Mercury and RCA. His chamber collaborator include musicians such as Rubinstein and Pierre Fournier.


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. Copy Adfly ( or LinkShrink ( to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.