WARNING! This blog use pop-up advertisements. Be advised and use Adblock/Ublock if you are allergic.

Sunday, June 4, 2017

George Onslow - Symphonies Nos. 1 & 3 (Johannes Goritzki)


Composer: George Onslow

  1. Symphony No. 1 in A major, Op. 41: I. Introduzione. Largo - Allegro spirituoso
  2. Symphony No. 1 in A major, Op. 41: II. Adagio espressivo
  3. Symphony No. 1 in A major, Op. 41: III. Minuetto. Vivace
  4. Symphony No. 1 in A major, Op. 41: IV. Finale. Vivace
  5. Symphony No. 3 in F minor, O. Op.: I. Largo - Allegro espressivo
  6. Symphony No. 3 in F minor, O. Op.: II. Allegro impetuoso
  7. Symphony No. 3 in F minor, O. Op.: III. Andante soave
  8. Symphony No. 3 in F minor, O. Op.: IV. Finale. Allegro agitato

NDR Radio Philharmonic Orchestra
Johannes Goritzki, conductor
Date: 2004
Label: cpo



Onslow seems to be making a comeback. No, that’s wrong. He’s never been around in the first place so record companies have begun to discover his chamber and symphonic music, which can only be good news for those inquisitive into French music in the period after Gossec and before Berlioz. And yet even that’s not quite right because the overlap with Berlioz is crucial and was used as something of a stick with which to beat the more traditional minded Onslow. And this in turn led to his eclipse in the minds of a Franco-German audience that had welcomed him wholeheartedly – and then the wider pan-European audience that saw triumphant revivals of his works. But the seeds of his precipitous decline were doubtless early sown. A symphonic composer in an operatically inclined Paris his symphonies had the misfortune to be premiered in the wake of Berlioz’s Sinfonie fantastique and Beethoven’s Ninth. And so, by mid century and his death in 1853 his eclipse was well and truly total.

At this remove it’s possible to hear what the fuss was about. Yes, these are certainly big traditional symphonic statements. Yes, they open with portentous Largo introductions and yes, the crisp post-classical writing has clearly lent an ear to Schubert. There’s a brief fugal episode as well in the first movement of the A major and strong writing for middle string voices that in this performance are magically apparent. The melodic distinction is evident here as is the rather mobile and strong approach to slow movements (no sentimentalist, Onslow, even though it’s marked espressivo). The A major’s Minuet is bustly with ingenious pomposo elements with a piping trio above stolid bass line (a typically witty touch) and the finale is confident if not altogether distinctive.

The later work, the Third Symphony, was completed three years later. There’s fine writing for bassoon and horn and a canny ear for colour and texture but local detail does tend to take precedence over novelty of design; it tends to be rather static. The rhythmically swaying scherzo adds brio and the slow movement is notable for the clarinet cantilena that flows so warmly through it. But one can’t really say that the work is an obvious advance on the preceding two symphonies, cogent and well argued though it undoubtedly is.

The notes are very full and frank, and they lay out the Onslow symphonic dilemma with unusual candour. The performances are detailed and colourful and serious. Together they make out a case for Onslow’s relative importance in the scheme of things; his is a voice that should be heard and not simply in relation to other bigger names.

-- Jonathan WoolfMusicWeb International

More reviews:


George Onslow (27 July 1784 – 3 October 1853) was a French composer of English descent. His wealth, position and personal tastes allowed him to pursue a path unfamiliar to most of his French contemporaries, more similar to that of his contemporary German romantic composers; his music also had a strong following in Germany and in England. His principal output was chamber music but he also wrote four symphonies and four operas. Esteemed by many of the critics of his time, his reputation declined swiftly after his death and has only been revived in recent years.


Johannes Goritzki was born in Tübingen, Germany. and studied cello with such musical legends as Gaspar Cassadò, André Navarra and Pablo Casals. He has released over 40 CDs. One highlight in his discography is Othmar Schoeck’s cello concerto, which was awarded with the "Grand Prix du Disque – Discobole de L’Europe". He  Goritzki has also enjoyed an extensive career as a conductor. From 1980 to 2003 Johannes Goritzki was principal conductor of the "Deutsche Kammerakademie Neuss am Rhein". As a soloist and conductor with this orchestra he performed and toured internationally.


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment

1 comment :

  1. Copy Adfly (adf.ly/XXXXXX) or LinkShrink (linkshrink.net/XXXXXX) to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (mega.nz).
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.