Thursday, July 6, 2017

Hans Pfitzner - Violin Concerto; Duo for violin & cello (Saschko Gawriloff)


Composer: Hans Pfitzner
  1. Violin Concerto in B minor, Op. 34: I. Lebhaft, energisch
  2. Violin Concerto in B minor, Op. 34: II. Langsam, sehr getragen
  3. Violin Concerto in B minor, Op. 34: III. Das Zeitmaß des Anfangs, etwas gemächlicher, freier
  4. Duo for violin, cello & orchestra, Op. 43: I. Allegro moderato
  5. Duo for violin, cello & orchestra, Op. 43: II. Moderato
  6. Duo for violin, cello & orchestra, Op. 43: III. Ganze Takte (Rondo)
  7. Scherzo for orchestra in C minor

Saschko Gawriloff, violin (1-6)
Julius Berger, cello (4-6)
Bamberg Symphony Orchestra
Werner Andreas Albert, conductor

Date: 1989 (1-6), 1990 (7)
Label: cpo



The Violin Concerto seems to be extremely well played (I have not been able to trace comparative performances - Gawriloff is however a seriously dedicated violinist) has quite a few orchestral coups de theatres with a miniature central movement (of three) for orchestra alone, a rather charming Mendelssohnian accent and some striking effects in choosing orchestral 'spice' against which the soloist is to play. The Duo has charm a plenty and is well worth hearing without being utterly memorable. As with all these discs the recording quality is never less than respectable.

-- Rob BarnettMusicWeb International

More reviews (on the whole collection):


Hans Pfitzner (5 May 1869 – 22 May 1949) was a German composer and self-described anti-modernist. His best known work is the post-Romantic opera Palestrina, loosely based on the life of the sixteenth-century composer Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina. Pfitzner's music, including pieces in all the major genres except the symphonic poem, was respected by contemporaries such as Gustav Mahler and Richard Strauss. His works combine Romantic and Late Romantic elements with extended thematic development, atmospheric music drama, and the intimacy of chamber music. Pfitzner's students included musicians such as Otto Klemperer, Charles Münch and Carl Orff.


Saschko Gawriloff (born October 20, 1929 in Leipzig) is a German violinist and violin teacher from Bulgarian descent, whose father was a violinist in the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra. At various times, he has served as concertmaster with the Dresden Philharmonic, the Berlin Philharmonic, the Berlin Radio Symphony, the Frankfurt Opera, and the Hamburg Symphony. As a soloist, Gawriloff gave premier of György Ligeti's violin concerto, which dedicated to him, in 1992 and performed the concerto another seventy times in the following decade.


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. Copy Adfly ( or LinkShrink ( to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.