WARNING! This blog use pop-up advertisements. Be advised and use Adblock/Ublock if you are allergic.

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Jacques Ibert - Piano Music (Hae-won Chang)


Composer: Jacques Ibert
  • (01) Scherzetto
  • (02) Pièce romantique
  • (03) Toccata sur le nom d'Albert Roussel
  • (04) L'espiègle au village de Lilliput
  • (05) Française: 'Guitarre' pour le piano
  • (06) Le vent dans les ruines
  • (07-21) Petite Suite en quinze images
  • (22-31) Histoires
  • (32-36) Les rencontres, petite suite en forme de ballet

Hae-won Chang, piano
Date: 1991
Label: Naxos



Jacques Ibert is one of those musicians who has an image as a lightweight, a less than serious composer and who has not made much of a mark on the musical mainstream. He wrote elegantly, with style and wit but varied output - for films, stage (including two operas), and concert platform left nothing of any great depth. Divertissement is possibly his best known work - that's the one with police whistles in the rumbustious Finale. Somehow or other it always leaves me with a mental image of the composer as a typical Frenchman with a droopy black moustache and a Gauloise hanging from the side of the mouth.

This Naxos collection does little to change our perception of the composer's work. All but six pieces are grouped into three main sections Petite Suite, Histoires and Les Recontres (Encounters) and with no less than thirty-six tracks in a 70 minute time scale clearly there is little in the way of in depth exploration of an individual subject.

These little vignettes - all titled - some representing individuals, some moods and emotions are a varied selection. In Petite Suite en quinze images (Little Suite in fifteen pictures) of 1943, the range includes an open-textured pleasant Prélude, a short (49") Bach-like fugue representing a wine grower, a Schumannesque Romance, a wistful L'Adieu and the tiniest (a mere 34 seconds-worth) of a Cabman's Dance slightly reminiscent of Mock Morris . The ten pieces in Histoires from 1922, include a braying donkey in Le petit âne blanc, a portrayal of A giddy girl with an attractively uneven rhythm and a clearly Spanish influenced Bajo la Mesa. The closing section - 5 pieces under the grouping of Les recontres, petite suite en forme d ballet were the basis for a Nijinski ballet of the 1920's and have of Flower Girls, Creoles , Precious Girls, Shepherdesses and Chatterboxes in its gallery of images.

The playing by the Korean Hae-won Chang is assured and nicely shaded throughout and the recording is perfectly satisfactory.

-- Harry DowneyMusicWeb International

More reviews:
BBC Music Magazine  PERFORMANCE: *** / SOUND: ***


Jacques Ibert (15 August 1890 – 5 February 1962) was a French composer. He studied at the Paris Conservatoire and won its top prize, the Prix de Rome at his first attempt, despite studies interrupted by his service in World War I. Ibert pursued a successful composing career, writing seven operas, five ballets, incidental music for plays and films, songs, choral works, and chamber music. He is probably best remembered for his orchestral works. Ibert did not attach himself to any of the prevalent genres of music of his time, and has been described as an eclectic.


Chang Hae-Won is one of the leading pianists and piano professors in Korea. She obtained B.A. and M.A. at the Piano Department College of Music at Ewha Womans University in Seoul. She continued her piano studies at the Frankfurt State Misikhochschule. Since her debut in 1957, Chang has enjoyed a busy career as a teacher and as a performer in Korea, in other Asian countries, America and Europe, with annual concert tours and engagements at home and abroad. She has appeared as a soloist with major orchestras and in recitals, and has performed as a soloist at numerous music festivals.


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment


  1. Copy Adfly (adf.ly/XXXXXX) or LinkShrink (linkshrink.net/XXXXXX) to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (mega.nz).
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.