WARNING! This blog use pop-up advertisements. Be advised and use Adblock/Ublock if you are allergic.

Monday, April 3, 2017

François Couperin - Keyboard Music Vol. III (Angela Hewitt)


Composer: François Couperin
  • (01) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 13e. Ordre: 1. Les Lis naissans
  • (02) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 13e. Ordre: 2. Les Rozeaux
  • (03) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 13e. Ordre: 3. L'engageante
  • (04-15) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 13e. Ordre: 4. Les Folies françoises, ou les Dominos
  • (16) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 13e. Ordre: 5. L'âme en peine
  • (17) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 14e. Ordre: 1. Le Rossignol en amour
  • (18) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 14e. Ordre: 2. La Linote éfarouchée
  • (19) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 14e. Ordre: 3. Les Fauvétes Plaintives
  • (20) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 14e. Ordre: 4. Le Petit-Rien
  • (21) Pièces de clavecin, Book 1 - 2e. Ordre: 18. Les Idées heureuses
  • (22) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 15e. Ordre: 2. Le Dodo, ou l'amour au Berçeau
  • (23) Pièces de clavecin, Book 2 - 10e. Ordre: 2. La Mézangére
  • (24) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 19e. Ordre: 6. La Muse-Plantine
  • (25) Pièces de clavecin, Book 1 - 4e. Ordre: 4. Le Réveil-matin
  • (26) Pièces de clavecin, Book 1 - 3e. Ordre: 12. La Favorite
  • (27) Pièces de clavecin, Book 1 - 3e. Ordre: 13. La Lutine
  • (28) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 16e. Ordre: 6. La Distraite
  • (29) Pièces de clavecin, Book 3 - 16e. Ordre: 2. L'Himen-Amour
  • (30) Pièces de clavecin, Book 2 - 7e. Ordre: 1. La Ménetou

Angela Hewitt, piano
Date: 2005
Label: Hyperion



Till Angela Hewitt decided to give her attention to these works, the pieces recorded on this disc were either neglected or forgotten altogether. With this third volume of excerpts from the harpsichord music of François Couperin, Hewitt concludes her personal and far reaching survey of the French master's keyboard works, and being the baroque expert that she is, music which was previously considered the exclusive reign of the harpsichord can be winningly transferred to the modern piano. Her mammoth J.S. Bach undertaking is ample testimony to this. Contrary to her programming on the previous two volumes, Hewitt here only performs one complete 'Ordre' (Suite) – the widely entertaining 13th with its wicked parody of a perverse masked ball. She also tackles 4 pieces from the 14th and as if to celebrate her joy at having successfully ended her task, she performs a wide selection of her favourite pieces taken from Suites not previously featured.

Couperin once said; 'I love much better the things which touch me than those which surprise me'. He wanted music to affect people and these pieces do just that. Full of grace, joy, light heartedness and at times even melancholy and tender sadness. These hidden miniatures also possess a hidden power that arrests the mind and touches the heart.

Hewitt's mini literary masterpiece is not only cause for exaltation, but also a source of encouragement to all those who are not familiar with such a refined style of music. An inspirational issue to complete a memorable mini-cycle which should delight and entertain those who are prepared to let themselves be regaled by these French delicacies.

-- Gerald Fenech © 2005, Classical Net

More reviews:


François Couperin (10 November 1668 – 11 September 1733) was a French Baroque composer, organist and harpsichordist. He was known as Couperin le Grand ("Couperin the Great") to distinguish him from other members of the musically talented Couperin family. Couperin's four volumes of harpsichord music, contain over 230 individual pieces, was loved by composers such as J. S. Bach, Brahms (who performed Couperin's music in public), R. Strauss (who orchestrated some Couperin's music) and Ravel (who wrote Le tombeau de Couperin).


Angela Hewitt (born July 26, 1958) is a British/Canadian classical pianist. She is most well known for her cycle of Bach recordings covering all the major keyboard works of J.S. Bach. Her discography also includes works by Couperin, Rameau, Messiaen, Chabrier, Ravel, Schumann, Beethoven, Chopin, Debussy and Fauré. In recent years, she records using her own piano, a Fazioli F308 grand. Hewitt was named an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) on June 17, 2006 and Gramophone Artist of the Year in 2006.


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. MUCHAS GRACIAS !!! … Merci! Thank you! Obrigado! Спасибо! !ありがう! Arigato! Danke! Dziękuję! Dank je u! Mulţumesc! Teşekkür ederim! Tack! Tack så mycket! Grazie! Kiitos! תודה לך! Takk! Dakujem,ďakujem vám! Hvala! شكراً!shokran! Ευχαριστώ! 감사합니다! Děkuji! Tak skal du have! Dankon! Hvala! Najlepša hvala! Gràcies! Faleminderit! Ačiū! De’koju! Labai ačiū! ขอบคุณ! Shukrīya! بہت) شكريه (bahut)! Cảm ơn cô! Cảm ơn cô nhiều! Благодаря! Þakka þér! Baie dankie! Takk fyri! Sipas dekem! متشکرم! Благодарам! Təşəkkür! Paldies! Pateicos! Tencinu! Terima kasih! Дуже дякую! Спасибі! Баярлалаа! Гялайлаа! Танд их баярлалаа! Terima kasih! ধন্যবাদ (dhonyobād)! Salamat! Trugarez!

  3. Copy Adfly (adf.ly/XXXXXX) or LinkShrink (linkshrink.net/XXXXXX) to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (mega.nz).
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.