Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Franz Schubert; Johann Nepomuk Hummel - Piano Quintets (Trio Wanderer)


Composer: Franz Schubert; Johann Nepomuk Hummel
  1. Hummel - Quintet in E flat minor, Op. 87: I. Allegro e risoluto assai
  2. Hummel - Quintet in E flat minor, Op. 87: II. Menuetto. Allegro con fuoco
  3. Hummel - Quintet in E flat minor, Op. 87: III. Largo
  4. Hummel - Quintet in E flat minor, Op. 87: IV. Finale. Allegro agitato
  5. Schubert - "Trout" Quintet in A major, Op. 114: I. Allegro vivace
  6. Schubert - "Trout" Quintet in A major, Op. 114: II. Andante
  7. Schubert - "Trout" Quintet in A major, Op. 114: III. Scherzo. Presto
  8. Schubert - "Trout" Quintet in A major, Op. 114: IV. Thema. Andantino
  9. Schubert - "Trout" Quintet in A major, Op. 114: IV. Variation 1
  10. Schubert - "Trout" Quintet in A major, Op. 114: IV. Variation 2
  11. Schubert - "Trout" Quintet in A major, Op. 114: IV. Variation 3
  12. Schubert - "Trout" Quintet in A major, Op. 114: IV. Variation 4
  13. Schubert - "Trout" Quintet in A major, Op. 114: IV. Variation 5
  14. Schubert - "Trout" Quintet in A major, Op. 114: V. Allegretto
  15. Schubert - "Trout" Quintet in A major, Op. 114: VI. Allegro giusto

Trio Wanderer
Vincent Coq, piano
Jean-Marc Phillips-Varjabédian, violin
Raphaël Pidoux, cello
Christophe Gaugué, viola
Stéphane Logerot, double bass

Date: 2003
Label: Harmonia Mundi!/albums/1297



Hummel’s powerful quintet adds to the appeal of this recommendable "Trout"

We expect technical finesse and a thoughtful interpretive approach from the Wanderer Trio; these attributes are shared by the two ‘extras’, and together they make up a notably well integrated quintet. This is a finely controlled, highly polished performance of the Trout, and the recorded sound is excellent, too. It’s a treat to be so clearly aware of the double bass’s contribution to the texture and rhythm, without feeling that the internal balance is at all unnatural. These players don’t put a foot wrong; they negotiate all the awkward corners – between Scherzo and Trio and back again, for instance – with great confidence and conviction; they use Schubert’s dynamics and accents to characterise and enliven the musical expression, most notably in the finale, and they find the most appropriate bright, sparkling sonorities for this most carefree of Schubert’s chamber works.

The degree of control and organisation does perhaps leave little room for the individuality and spontaneity that makes the 1957 Curzon/ Vienna Octet recording, or the more recent version with Brendel and Zehetmair, so life-enhancing. But this would still be high on my Trout list, and the CD’s appeal is increased by the Hummel, a powerfully dramatic work, played with terrific energy and imagination. Vincent Coq relishes Hummel’s beautiful cantabile writing, half way between Mozart and Chopin, and Christophe Gaugué makes the most of some memorable, melancholy viola solos. Altogether, the performance is most impressive in the way that its verve is matched with such a strong sense of integration and balance.

-- Duncan Druce, Gramophone

More reviews:
BBC Music Magazine  PERFORMANCE: **** / SOUND: *****


Franz Schubert (31 January 1797 – 19 November 1828) was an Austrian composer who was extremely prolific during his short lifetime. His output consists of over six hundred secular vocal works (mainly Lieder), seven complete symphonies, sacred music, operas, incidental music and a large body of chamber and piano music. Today, Schubert is ranked among the greatest composers of the late Classical era and early Romantic era and is one of the most frequently performed composers of the early nineteenth century. His music is characterized by pleasing tunes while still has "a great wealth of technical finesse".


Johann Nepomuk Hummel (14 November 1778 – 17 October 1837) was an Austrian composer and virtuoso pianist. His music reflects the transition from the Classical to the Romantic musical era. He received lessons and instructions from Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in Vienna and Muzio Clementi in London. His main oeuvre is for the piano, on which instrument he was one of the great virtuosi of his day. Later 19th century pianistic technique was influenced by Hummel, through his instruction of Carl Czerny who later taught Franz Liszt.


The Trio Wanderer was formed at the Paris Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in 1987. The members of the Trio were students there: Vincent Coq (piano), Jean-Marc Phillips-Varjabédian (violin), and Raphaël Pidoux (cello). Though each had already received advanced training, their most important studies in chamber music came in the years 1987-1991 under Jean-Claude Pennetier, Janos Starker, and Menahem Pressler. The trio has made recordings for a variety of labels, including Sony Classical, Harmonia Mundi, Chant du Monde Capriccio, and others.


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment

1 comment :

  1. Copy Adfly ( or LinkShrink ( to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.