Friday, April 21, 2017

Franz Schubert - Symphonies Nos. 8 & 9 (Josef Krips)


Composer: Franz Schubert
  1. Symphony No. 9 in C major, D. 944 - "The Great": 1. Andante - Allegro ma non troppo
  2. Symphony No. 9 in C major, D. 944 - "The Great": 2. Andante con moto
  3. Symphony No. 9 in C major, D. 944 - "The Great": 3. Scherzo (Allegro vivace)
  4. Symphony No. 9 in C major, D. 944 - "The Great": 4. Allegro vivace
  5. Symphony No. 8 in B minor, D. 759 - "Unfinished": 1. Allegro moderato
  6. Symphony No. 8 in B minor, D. 759 - "Unfinished": 2. Andante con moto

London Symphony Orchestra (1-4)
Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra (5, 6)
Josef Krips, conductor

Date: 1958 (1-4), 1969 (5, 6)
Label: Decca



The 1978 Penguin Guide to LPs gave this "Great" a rosette and wrote, "Josef Krips never made a finer record than this, and in the current reissue the sound is outstanding too, with a glowing bloom cast over the entire orchestra. The performance itself has a direct, unforced spontaneity, which shows Krips' natural feeling for Schubertian lyricism at its most engaging. The playing is polished yet flexible, strong without ever sounding aggressive. In the two final movements Krips finds an airy exhilaration which makes one wonder however other conductors can keep the music earthbound as they do. The pointing of the trio in the scherzo is delectable, and the feathery lightness of the triplets in the finale makes one positively welcome every single one of its many repetitions. As a whole this reading represents the Viennese tradition at its very finest, and this record is not surpassed in the present catalogue either on grounds of sound or as a performance…"

I have quoted the entry in full because I don't see any sense in 're-inventing the wheel'. The previous CD incarnation was a distinct disappointment. The strings sounded thin and the whole perspective was dry. This has now been righted and the recording is restored to its rightful place. The coupling this time is more welcome (it was Krips' recording of Schumann's 4th) if not quite in the same league as the 9th. The first movement of the "Unfinished" is dark and mysterious, but the second seems somewhat perfunctory. Checking the Penguin's comments about it, they noted that the performance "…may lack some of the bite which even this symphony should have…" but still recommended it for its warmth.

One of the nice things about the most recent "Classic Sound" issues is the insert notes. They spend much time, in this case all of it, discussing the conductor and the works he recorded on the disc. The comments are all the more welcome since the typical generic comments about the pieces are usually vacuous anyway. This is the case here where we learn a lot about Krips, a conductor who never attained the status of a Stokowski but was a vital force in music making in his time. Krips' interpretations were always warm and lyrical rather than dramatic and forceful. He never imposed his personality upon the music, but rather brought out from the music Krips' feelings about it.

I note, again, how dramatically improved the latest CD issues are from London/Decca. As I have pointed out in other reviews, the latest issues are 'made in America'. Previous discs were made in Germany and were dry and thin sounding. Whatever has been changed, the music now is fuller and warmer, while more detailed at the same time. Stings have a rich sound, with feathery detail where needed. I hope that Decca will continue to issue these wonderful recordings. They reflect the best in CD sound and give us interpretations which are from a time when giants did walk the earth. We used to have conductors, now we mainly hear directors.

-- Robert Stumpf II © 1998, Classical Net

More reviews:


Franz Schubert (31 January 1797 – 19 November 1828) was an Austrian composer who was extremely prolific during his short lifetime. His output consists of over six hundred secular vocal works (mainly Lieder), seven complete symphonies, sacred music, operas, incidental music and a large body of chamber and piano music. Today, Schubert is ranked among the greatest composers of the late Classical era and early Romantic era and is one of the most frequently performed composers of the early nineteenth century. His music is characterized by pleasing tunes while still has "a great wealth of technical finesse".


Josef Krips (8 April 1902 – 13 October 1974) was an Austrian conductor and violinist. Before WWII, he worked in Vienna as a resident conductor of the Volksoper and a regular conductor at the Wiener Staatsoper. He was the first to conduct the Vienna Philharmonic and the Salzburg Festival in the postwar period. Krips was principal conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra (1950-1954), the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra (1963-1970), the San Francisco Symphony (1963-1970), and the the Vienna Symphony (1970-1973).


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. MUCHAS GRACIAS !!! … Merci! Thank you! Obrigado! Спасибо! !ありがう! Arigato! Danke! Dziękuję! Dank je u! Mulţumesc! Teşekkür ederim! Tack! Tack så mycket! Grazie! Kiitos! תודה לך! Takk! Dakujem,ďakujem vám! Hvala! شكراً!shokran! Ευχαριστώ! 감사합니다! Děkuji! Tak skal du have! Dankon! Hvala! Najlepša hvala! Gràcies! Faleminderit! Ačiū! De’koju! Labai ačiū! ขอบคุณ! Shukrīya! بہت) شكريه (bahut)! Cảm ơn cô! Cảm ơn cô nhiều! Благодаря! Þakka þér! Baie dankie! Takk fyri! Sipas dekem! متشکرم! Благодарам! Təşəkkür! Paldies! Pateicos! Tencinu! Terima kasih! Дуже дякую! Спасибі! Баярлалаа! Гялайлаа! Танд их баярлалаа! Terima kasih! ধন্যবাদ (dhonyobād)! Salamat! Trugarez!

  3. Copy Adfly ( or LinkShrink ( to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.