Monday, July 3, 2017

Guy Ropartz - Orchestral Works (Pascal Verrot)


Composer: Guy Ropartz
  1. Petite Symphonie: 1. Allegro
  2. Petite Symphonie: 2. Lento moderato
  3. Petite Symphonie: 3. Presto
  4. Pastorales: 1. Allegro sciolto
  5. Pastorales: 2. Quasi lento
  6. Pastorales: 3. Allegro assai
  7. Sons de cloches: 1. L'Angélus
  8. Sons de cloches: 2. Le Glas
  9. Sons de cloches: 3. Cloches du soir
  10. Sérénade champêtre
  11. Divertimento

Orchestre de Bretagne
Pascal Verrot, conductor

Date: 1995
Label: Timpani



Here we have another enterprising independent label exploring unfamiliar repertoire. This handsomely packaged Timpani release is devoted to the music of the Breton composer, Joseph Guy Ropartz, who may be known to more adventurous collectors for his Third Symphony, which dates from 1905, well before most of the music on this disc. That particular piece, like similar works from Roussel and Magnard, was enthusiastically taken up by a later generation of French musicians (notably Honegger), before disappearing in the post-war Modernist blitz.

A glance at Ropartz’s dates give us an idea how much upheaval in the arts he must have witnessed, and it is obvious when playing this disc, that his sympathies as a composer lay firmly in the past. He displayed extraordinary ability as a child (not just in music), and later became a favourite pupil of César Franck’s; at his death he left no fewer than 165 works in various genres, possibly the most famous of which is the opera Le Pays.

Every item on this release is, at the very least, a pleasant listen, in some cases hinting at more, but ultimately one is left with the impression that there is nothing of enough substance to make you want keep returning to it. The musical ideas are primarily of a light nature, with the chamber orchestra scoring giving an airy, transparent feel to the textures. What emerges is an overwhelming feeling of Gallic neo-classicism, the sort of music that many French composers (primarily Ravel) were obsessed with in the early years of the century. With titles like Divertimento, Pastorales and Petite Symphonie, one cannot expect music that plumbs the depths, but turn to almost any piece of a similar nature by Ravel or Poulenc, and the level of inspiration is of a different order.

All the music (apart from Sons de Cloches) comes from Ropartz’s last major compositional phase, and certainly displays a real French temperament, particularly in the use of woodwind. I was specially drawn to the delicate textures of the Pastorales, where Ropartz draws on native Breton folk elements, and imbues the melodic line with a modal feel that has both charm and personality. The ghost of Ravel is never far away, unfortunately, and the ear is constantly reminded of greater, more familiar music, in this case de Le Tombeau de Couperin. The final animato section of the Divertimento put me in mind of Poulenc (without the infectious, wicked humour), and at times during the otherwise perfectly engaging Sérénade Champêtre, I recalled shades of late Richard Strauss, particularly the Oboe Concerto.

Needless to say, the liner note author pleads a strong case for Ropartz, though his claim that ‘this great composer can figure as a leading "worthy" of twentieth-century music’ may be pushing it a little far. As I say, the music is harmless, pleasant and diverting, but resolutely devoid of real memorability. The recording is a bit dry for my taste, with the close balance giving a slightly ‘boxy’ feel, though the performances are excellent.

If you love French repertoire or just enjoy investigating generally, you may well get more out of this disc than I did. None of the music offends in the slightest, but I doubt if any of it will give you the feeling that you’ve made a real discovery.

-- Tony HaywoodMusicWeb International


Guy Ropartz (June 15, 1864 – November 22, 1955) was a French composer and conductor. His compositions included five symphonies, three violin sonatas, cello sonatas, six string quartets, a piano trio and string trio (both in A minor), stage works, a number of choral works and other music including a Prélude, Marine et Chansons for flute, harp and string trio, often alluding to his Breton heritage. He self-identified as a Celtic Breton. His musical style was influenced by Claude Debussy and César Franck. Ropartz was also a writer of literary works, notably poetry.


Pascal Verrot (born 1959 in Lyon) is a French-born orchestra conductor and oboist. Verrot holds degrees both from the Sorbonne University in Paris and the Paris Conservatory. He also studiedwith Franco Ferrara at the Accademia Musicale Chigiana in Siena, Italy. Verrot was Seiji Ozawa's assistant at the Boston Symphony orchestra from September 1986 to June 1990. Then he became musical director of the Quebec Symphony orchestra, from 1991 to the end of 1997. He is now the principal conductor of the Sendai Philharmonic, Japan (since 2006).


FLAC, tracks
Links in comment


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. Copy Adfly ( or LinkShrink ( to your browser's address bar, wait 5 seconds, then click on 'Skip [This] Ad' (or 'Continue') (yellow button, top right).
    If Adfly or LinkShrink ask you to download anything, IGNORE them, only download from file hosting site (
    If you encounter 'Bandwidth Limit Exceeded' problem, try to create a free account on MEGA.